Skip to main content

The Lower Saxony Chamber of Agriculture is based in Oldenburg and is the self-governing organization of agriculture in Lower Saxony. It was formed in 2006 from the merger of the Weser-Ems Chamber of Agriculture in Oldenburg and the Hanover Chamber of Agriculture.

In the Chamber of Agriculture, representatives of the profession elected on a voluntary basis and full-time experts work closely together. The highest decision-making body of the Chamber of Agriculture is the Chamber Assembly with 168 members, two thirds of whom are entrepreneurs and one third employees from agriculture, fisheries, forestry and horticulture.

Although the Chamber of Agriculture has its headquarters in Oldenburg, it is spread throughout Lower Saxony. There are eleven district offices, 17 field offices, seven forestry offices, nine experimental stations, ten approval offices and 13 experimental stations.